Letters to our daughters – January 2014

Dear Andi,

Firstly Happy 4th Birthday big girl! (to which you would reply “thanks big mum”)

I’m still in shock that you’re 4 YEARS OLD already… feels like not so long ago that I was gazing in awe at you in the hospital after your reluctant entrance into the world and you initiating me into motherhood by pooping all over me, from that instant I loved you. Each and every day you grow and change and every day I undergo growth and change along with you. I never know what the day is going to bring, what funny things you’ll say or do, what questions you’ll ask… These are not “if’s” this is one constant… there will be something that you do to make me laugh and there will most certainly be a lot of questions!

Over the last year you have grown so independent, sometimes I forget that you can do something by yourself but you are always quick to remind me, usually accompanied by a disapproving look (a look I’m sure Nanna would be proud of). I love to watch you tackling a new task, your concentration, your sheer will, your stubbornness and then the pride exuding as you complete the task with a loud “I did it all by myself” while doing a little happy dance.

You have been so excited for your birthday all you asked for was a big girl crockery and cutlery set, rainbow birthday cake and to get your nails painted (something you have been wanting for over 6months). You were so apprehensive at the nail salon you went all quiet and serious watching every little move the technician was making… you picked a sparkly purple, and were very giddy by the end.We had a wonderful time celebrating at home with your favorite meal (mac and cheese) decorations, decorations and more decorations, and a cake with nearly a 50/50 split of cake to frosting (your favorite part)! I think the next day you told everyone you saw that you were big now because you were 4.

My beautiful girl who believes sticky tape fixes everything, fairies visit at night, poop is the funniest word in the world and who wants to be a superhero when she grows up, I hope you had a wonderful birthday and I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings!

Love you to the moon and back Monkey
Mummy

IMG_5366

bdaynails_edited-1superheros_edited-1IMG_4393_edited-2

One thought on “Letters to our daughters – January 2014

  1. Pingback: Letters to our Daughters – February 2014 » Pretty in Pic Photography – Lifestyle Family Photography

Leave a Reply

