Letters to our Daughters – July

Dearest Andi,

We have had lots of fun and been very busy over the summer so far… perhaps in hindsight I shouldn’t have arranged quite so many activities as you are now at the point where you just want to stay at home and play but between speech for Tate, music and swimming lessons for both you we are out for the morning most days. We also struggled with a tummy bug this month and I have to say I will apologize now for my lack of nursing skills. We have been very fortunate that you have never had any major illnesses and I can’t tell you how much it breaks my heart not being able to make it all better on the rare occasion that you have been ill.

You were very excited to be turning 4.5 this weekend… although I was beginning to regret actually telling you after you started putting in requests for what you would like for your present. We managed on a compromise in that you could do some jobs around the house to earn some money so you could buy the item you wanted for yourself. You are very excited every time you complete a task and I give you a $1… you always want to count how many you have now and how many more you need to reach your goal.

I am very proud of how well you have been playing with Tate over the summer… don’t get me wrong you still have your squabbles but there are days where you will play happily together with each other for a good length of time as long as Daddy and I stay away. You like to play with the Octonauts, super heros and you even have let Tate play with you in your room with your dollhouse and other treasures.  You love to collect all things and I see the need for rationalizing some of your collections soon however I am struggling with asking you to give up items whether they be rocks, party favors or drawings that you have done as you hold all these things so dear to you. I might also have to consider setting a better example…

You have been big on playing baddies and goodies lately as you navigate morality… I love being a fly on the wall during these games and watching as your body language and demeanor changes depending on the role you are playing. Your world is so very black and white… as you grow you will realize there are multiple shades of grey in this life.

To my strong and sweet girl who sleeps with her rock collection, starts all her sentences with “guess what”, twirls her hair and who believes she has two eyes so she can watch tv and the ipad at the same time, I love you to the moon and back. xoxo Mummy IMG_7709IMG_7762IMG_7643IMG_7746IMG_7728IMG_7817IMG_7705IMG_7656IMG_7712Please continue on the circle to read Jana O’Flaherty of Photography 2204  Letter to her beautiful daughter http://www.photography2204.com/letters-to-our-daughters-july/

5 thoughts on “Letters to our Daughters – July

  1. Pingback: Letters to My Daughter: July 2014 | Yazmin Wickham PhotographyYazmin Wickham Photography

  2. Oh my goodness! Love the black and whites and your little one is gorgeous as always! Love the shots with the sunglasses!

    • Thanks, Andi wanted to wait til Saturday on her half birthday to do photos and the weather wasn’t good so we did a 10 min mini session in the garage with natural light she wanted to show me how fast she could run now she was 4.5, how high she could jump and how strong she was lol

      • I *wish* we had that much space in our garage… lol

        Right now it’s our storage area. I need to clear it out so I can get my punching bag up!

Leave a Reply

