Letters to our Daughters – September

IMG_1794

Dearest Andi,

The last few days the temperature has dramatically dropped and as you said to me the other day summer is short… touche my big girl… time is passing so very quickly.

You are enjoying your first month back at school and coping pretty well considering the longer days, sometimes you aren’t very nice to Tate when you get home and other days he is your best friend, he loves and adores you so very much, I hope you adjust to the longer days soon. I’m not sure where you picked up the term but you were in the middle of one of your long stories at dinner and Tate looks at you and says “No talking” repeatedly Daddy and I really struggled not to burst into fits when you reply complete with arms flailing “You’re destroying my life” Not sure where you get your flair for the dramatic…

This month we took our trip to New York City, we managed to fit quite a bit in and Mummy and Daddy had to deviate from our “one thing a day” rule that we typically follow when vacationing. We rode the subway, ate ice creams in Central Park, meet some superheros in Times Square, had lunch at Grand Central, went to the 102nd floor of the Empire State Building, saw the Statue of Liberty, walked to Little Italy for Breakfast and visited a couple of playgrounds. I think your favourite part, besides the random playgrounds was the Statue of Liberty which we saw from the water, I’m not quite sure why this was your favourite although perhaps it has to do with seeing it in superhero books, and you have quite a fascination with them at the moment and even want to dress-up as Captain America for Halloween. By the time we got home you were tired and very happy to have your own bed and room, having had to share with Tatey (who kept talking and getting out of bed) for the weekend. You got a snowglobe at the Empire State Building which got broken so we bought a new one at the airport, you even took it to school for show and tell and I was very relieved to see it come home in one piece. You still struggle with objects getting broken or wearing out, your latest is to throw the object in the trash but not just that object anything connected to it…. not sure what that’s all about.

We attended a birthday party complete with horse rides. You have had a few opportunities to ride but you have always turned down the chance. You were so funny at the party you were having a great time playing and then when it was time for you all to line up to go and see the stables and horses you found your way to my side and told me you were feeling nervous. I do forget sometimes how big and scary things must seem for someone at your age… you can be so brave and fearless and other times you need some reassurance. I will always be there to hold your hand anytime you need it.

You ventured from my side briefly during the stable tour but I’m not sure what happened I think one of the horses came close to the gate and your eyes grew big and you body shrunk and you were back beside me. Everyone then lined up and got their helmets on… you said that you didn’t want to ride… you were watching the older kids and thought that you were going to be doing what they were doing…. once you saw that someone would be leading the horse and only walking you looked up with a nervous smile and said “I think I do want to have a turn now” I’m so proud that you decided to try it… and you actually enjoyed it enough that you had a second turn!

My inquisitive girl who sleeps under the covers, loves to draw and can buckle her own seat belt, I love you to the moon and back. Mummy xoxoxo

Untitled-1_edited-1Untitled-2IMG_1742Untitled-1IMG_1788IMG_1792

Take a moment to continue the circle to see Laura Shachmut of Shachmut Photography’s Letter to her daughter http://www.shachmutphotography.com/2014/09/15/letters-to-our

 

 

One thought on “Letters to our Daughters – September

Leave a Reply

