Letters to our daughters – January 2015

Dear Andi,

Happy New Year and Happy 5th Birthday big kid!

It has been a busy month with Christmas, New years, a new cousin, your uncles engagement and your birthday… a month of celebrations!

We had a wonderful Christmas, you seemed to recover from your flu just in time! We didn’t get our white Christmas but we still got to enjoy a hot meal without feeling strange for baking in the middle of summer as we do back in Australia.

You have been excited for your birthday for what feels like a whole year! This year we had a party with some of your friends from school at the bounce house. You wanted a princess party which is a bit tricky with half your friends being boys but I think we managed it. As per usual I made you a hideously oversized and elaborate cake, this year your request was for a Fairy, Princess, Cinderella cake…. so we googled some cakes and it seemed as though you were mostly interested in the turrets on the castle cakes, so I made you a castle cake. The hours that went into the cake were worth it when you came said thank you and gave me a hug while I was making decorations and of course your smile when you saw it (even though I’m pretty sure you snuck a peek before your party).

Unlike your 3rd birthday party where you demanded everyone sing to you and made your own thank you speech, you turned all shy while everyone sang to you but the smile on your face was one of absolute joy. This year you had a 3 day birthday starting with your party on Sunday, then your actual birthday on Monday followed by your class birthday celebration on Tuesday… here’s hoping you don’t get too attached to the idea of a multiple day birthday.

I can’t believe you are 5!!! You are certainly turning into a big kid… You like to spout my words back at me which is hard for me to argue with. Like tonight at dinner you were having a steak and potato pie, and I was having a chicken pie you asked why I wasn’t eating the same and I said that I don’t like steak (really don’t know if you’re ready for my actual reason I don’t eat red meat) and you told me that I should try it again because sometimes we change our mind.

You were very excited about the news of your new baby cousin Erin, you can’t wait to meet her in March and are already planning what baby things of yours that you are going to give her, so sweet. You and Tate have been big on playing babies and I fear that all the attention may be a bit much for Erin when you get to meet her. I love that you are so very excited to meet your newest family member though 🙂

As always you are very into your drawing and painting, upon finding out any news you want to do a drawing or painting to commerate, you did a very bright rainbow painting for Uncle Jake and Aunty Chloes wedding, and one for Baby Erin too.

We had some sad news this month, Daddy’s Grandma passed away. You had met her a few times but probably not that you remember. We told you that Daddy might be a bit sad because she died and you said straight away that you would make him a drawing so that he would always remember her. You are so thoughtful some times.

To my 5yr (and 7 day old) girl, who loves her little lego, who’s favourite game to play is Cinderella and wants to be a queen when she grows up,

I love you to the moon and back

Mummy xoxox

IMG_9763IMG_9735IMG_9665IMG_9683IMG_9754IMG_9686IMG_9711IMG_9713IMG_9716IMG_9718IMG_9810

Please continue on to see Stacy Millberg of Bella Grace Photography’s letter to her beautiful daughter http://www.bellagracephoto.com/blog/letters-to-our-daughters-january-2015

 

 

7 thoughts on “Letters to our daughters – January 2015

  1. Pingback: letters to my daughters | january 2015 | Tricia Boutelle | Lifestyle + Photography

  2. Bianca, this is wonderful! I love how you’ve chronicled the beautiful little details of your sweet girl’s days. And your portraits of her are just so lovely. I’m excited to see how this year progresses for you.

  3. Such an empathetic soul you have there Bianca. I love that she wants to commemorate everything with a drawing. You may need to bind all those up into a book!

    • hehe we are overrun with drawings at the moment… I do make sure to photograph them in the hope that one day we can limit our keepers (of course they are all keepers to her) to a folder or a book!

Leave a Reply

